The Avenue Road Safety Coalition Honoured for its Community Leadership

The Avenue Road Safety Coalition (ARSC) received recognition this week from the Member of the Provincial Parliament, University – Rosedale, Jessica Bell, for our leadership work to improve road safety.

Over the past seven years, the ARSC has been working together with a multitude of organizations and individuals to advocate for redesigning the six-lane Avenue Road expressway between St Clair and Bloor Street West.

Our goal has been to create a safer inclusive corridor that takes into consideration pedestrians, cyclists, and motorists alike. This award is an acknowledgment of everyone who shares our goal. THANK YOU!

The City’s Avenue Road study confirmed that the current configuration of Avenue Road encourages speeding. The motorway is bordered by a densely populated neighbourhood with sidewalks that do not meet safety or accessibility standards. To change this, the City Transportation Services staff unveiled redesign options for Avenue Road, signaling progress in addressing these long-standing safety concerns.

The ARSC is now on the verge of achieving its objective to make Avenue Road accessible to all. We are awaiting the final report on the Avenue Road Study, which will provide recommendations for near-term interventions.

More details and action steps for you to take will be provided soon. We know you’ll show your support and advocate with us for tangible changes that will make Avenue Road a more vibrant, people-friendly, climate-friendly, and inclusive transportation corridor. With your support, Avenue Road will be safe for everyone, including walkers, wheelers, and drivers.

Pictured collecting the Award.
Tim Hadwen – Church of the Redeemer and Annex Residents’ Association, Jessica Spieker – Friends and Families for Safe Streets; Henry Wiercinski- Annex Residents’ Association, Murray Campbell – Rathnelly Area Residents’ Association, Brock Howes – Brown Junior Public School, Albert Koehl – Toronto Community Bikeways Coalition, Nigel Fung – Church of the Redeemer, Arlene Desjardins – ABC Residents Association. From – Jessica Bell – MPP, University-Rosedale & Deborah Williams – School Trustee, TDSB, Ward 10